Main

About Me

Chris Self Portrait No 1Writing about yourself is tough. What to share, what not to share, what might actually be used against you in a court of law.

This site and my work represent almost two decades of getting in the trenches and discovering the good, bad, and ugly of what it’s like to work and live in the early 21st century.

I wasn’t one of those shiny young things who knew exactly what he wanted to do with his life. That’s meant plenty of wandering around, learning how to work and how to live. Along the way, I’ve managed to get some things right as well as thoroughly screw shit up. As a believer in karma, it all sort of balances itself out.

So what kind of jobs and careers have I had? It’s a long and slightly odd list so I’ll keep to the highlights. I’ve worked in both nonprofit and corporate sectors. I’ve worked inside global enterprises and small local shops. I’ve been an entrepreneur, a consultant, a career coach. I’ve switched careers a few times. I’ve tried out grad school a few times. I’ve managed staff where I hired and fired. I’ve also been hired and fired and unemployed.

I also deal with depression and anxiety issues that creep up from time to time. Because of this, I’ve been through some dark times that have impacted both my personal and professional life and left me with an empathic understanding of the importance of mental and emotional health.

I mention all of this as a way of saying that I’ve experienced my fair share of highs and lows. And I truly believe I’ve experienced all of this so that I could bring my voice to help others like you navigate all the craziness of the modern workplace. Fair warning that this voice can be snarky, profane, sardonic, and mischievous…but also always aims to be honest. I don’t have all the answers so you may need to help me out from time to time.

If you’ve made it this far, I appreciate it. I feel like I should share some sort of joke with you as a reward. Perhaps some memes will do:

Two Types of Drinking PeopleSlap Your Annoying Coworker Day
Coffee and Whiskey for ChangeYou are worthy

If you’ve come this far, you’re either really interested in my background or you accidentally hit the scroll down button while doing some hardcore procrastination. For those in the former category, here you go…

I’m a native of West Virginia, but have lived in North Carolina, Northern Virginia, Texas, and now Georgia. I’ve been married to my college sweetheart since 1995 and we have two daughters and two Boston Terriers. I love the outdoors where I’m an avid hiker, canoer, and birdwatcher. My spirit animal is a bear. When I’m reading for pleasure, I head for the sci-fi and history sections of the library. I’m a Scotch, bourbon, and beer enthusiast. And when I need to find my groove, I crank some classic heavy metal and headbang like I did when I was a teenager.